full screen background image

495 Phoenixville Road, Chaplin, CT 06235

Windham County Connecticut

 Phone: (860) 455-0073

 Fax: (860) 455-0027

 Email: assistant@chaplinct.org

Please be advised that on Monday, August 19th contractors will be doing grading and drainage work on North Bear Hill Road and local residents should use the east access (South Bear Hill Road and Singleton Road) as much as possible.

Inland Wetland and Watercourses Commission

The Inland Wetland and Watercourses Commission meets the 4th Wednesday of each month at 7pm in the Chaplin Town Hall (note possible date changes for the holidays).  The 2019 Regular meeting dates are:  1/23/19; 2/27/19; 3/27/19; 4/24/19; 5/22/19; 6/26/19; 7/24/19; 8/28/19; 9/25/19; 10/23/19; 11/20/19; 12/18/19

The goal of the Inland Wetland Commission is to uphold environmental condition through education & through the care and security of wetlands and other natural resources.  The Inland Wetlands Commission is a seven member board serving six year terms.

The Inland Wetlands and Watercourses Commission (IWWC) is charged by the Connecticut General Statutes, section 22a-36 through 22a-45 to regulate in or near wetlands and/or watercourses in the Town of Chaplin for the purposes of protecting Chaplin’s natural resources. The Commission discharges this obligation by provisions set forth in the Town of Chaplin Inland Wetlands and Watercourses regulations. These regulations require all land owners and their agents who propose any activity within 100’ of a wetland or watercourse or within 200’ of the high water mark of the Natchaug River to contact the Wetlands agent, Joe Theroux at (860) 455-0073 extension 316, for a determination on whether this activity should go before the Commission for a permit. These activities may include, but not be limited to, cutting trees, removal or depositing of material and/or soil, disturbance of the natural drainage, erection of buildings and grading of soil.

Meetings & Minutes Archive


Scott Matthies (D) - Chairman
Term End: 11/02/2021

Peter Kegler (R) - Vice Chairman
Term End: 11/05/2019

Michael Jenkins (R) - Secretary
Term End: 11/07/2023

Sharyn Rusch (D) - Member
Term End: 11/05/2019

Paul Deveny (R) - Member
Term End: 11/02/2021

Virginia Walton (D) - Alternate
Term End: 11/02/2021

Joe Theroux - Staff

Douglas Cates (D) - Alternate
Term End: 11/05/2019

Vacancy Inland Wetlands - Alternate
Term End: 11/07/2023

Upcoming Meetings & Events (next 30 days)



Inland Wetland Regulations


Inland Wetlands Application for Permit
Notification of Timber Harvest
Timber Harvest Form


Legal Notice - Inland Wetland and Watercourses 06/26/2019


Ordinance - Inland Wetlands

Boards & Commissions